Education FAQs

//Education FAQs
Education FAQs 2018-01-19T14:12:05+00:00

Answers to your most-asked questions about continuing education, getting a real estate license, license renewal and more.

 

Continuing education (CE) lookup

Q. Where can I find out how many CE hours I have taken?

A. The Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation has an online CE Lookup. You can also use the Illinois REALTORS® Licensing & Training Center CE Lookup to find only courses taken through our school.

 

Designations and certifications

Q. What real estate designations and certifications are available?

A. The National Association of REALTORS® provides a wide range of designations and certifications. Illinois REALTORS® Licensing & Training Center offers designation and certification courses online and in classroom branch locations. Check out our online GRI designation program.

 

Financial aid

Q. Is financial aid available for real estate courses?

A. Yes. The Illinois Real Estate Educational Foundation awards scholarships to students of real estate and related fields of study. The foundation is supported through the voluntary contributions of those who recognize the importance of furthering academic experience and training in the real estate industry in Illinois. Illinois REALTORS® live pre-license classroom courses are also eligible for reimbursement under the GI Bill® for qualifying veterans.

 

Instructors

Q. Who are the Illinois REALTORS®-approved instructors?

A. The following licensed instructors are approved to teach courses at Illinois REALTORS® Licensing & Training Center locations:

Annette Akey – annette.akey@gmail.com
Jonghyun An – douner73@gmail.com
Bruce Aydt – Bruce@bruceaydt.com
Jenny Basantes – jennybasantesconsultants@gmail.com
Scott Bechtel – scott@bechtelhomes.com
Ryan Behrens – ryanwbehrens@hotmail.com
Margaret Beetz – mbeetz@melfosterco.com 
Amanda Bermudez – abermudez@midlandira.com
Carrie J. Bey-Little – carrie.bey@bairdwarner.com
Chris Bird – chris@chrisbirdseminars.com
Pam Borowski – pam@pamborowski.com
Kevin Botterbush – kevinbotterbush@prodigy.net
Kris Brown – instructorkris@aol.com
Debbie Buckrucker – dbuckrucker@comcast.net
Nick Butzirus – nick@butzirus.com
Lin Marie Carey – linmariecarey@gmail.com
Jackie Carrow – jackiecarrow@coldwellbanker.com
Pat Casey – pca10@comcast.net
Colleen Clavesilla –  colleenlessner@comcast.net
Lori Cox – Lori@loricox.com
Jean Crosby – jean@jeancrosby.com
Joseph P. Daly – jdaly@amerifirst.com
Patrick Daniels – patrick.daniels@illinois.gov
Marlene Dau – contact Beth Smukowski (IREM) – BSmukowski@irem.org
Stacy Deemer – deemarandfogelson@bairdwarner.com
Chris Diana – chris.diana@kw.com
Joseph Estafanous – Joseph@MidwestRealty.us
Lin Ewing – linewing@linewing.com
Thomas Fallon – Tom@midwestequity.com
Pete Fleming – Pete@flemingrealty.net
Bev George – bev.george.realtor@gmail.com
Marilyn Glazer – Marilyn@marilynglazer.com
Tom Guttila – tguttila@coldwellbanker.com
Jim Haisler – jh@heartlandro.com
Ron Hardgrove – ronhardgrove@yahoo.com
Steve Hayden – Steve@callstevetoday.com
Melinda Helfer – melhel4@comcast.net
Jana Herdova – regencyincglobal@yahoo.com
Randy Hughes – randy@hughesre.com
Richard Ives – richardivesseminars@yahoo.com
Linnea Jacobs –  LinneaJacobs1@gmail.com
Wayne Jacobsen – contact Christina Urbina – Christina.urbina@bairdwarner.com
Julea Jane Joseph – julea@sbcglobal.net
Lisa Keating – LisaKeat@aol.com
Kerry Kidwell – kerry@realestateeducation.info
Kathy Kreutzberg – krtzberg@yahoo.com
Karen Lander – Karen@lander1.com
Suzanne Layden – contact Christina Urbina (Baird & Warner) Christina.urbina@bairdwarner.com
Marki Lemons-Ryhal – foreclosurequeen@markilemons.com
Justin Letheby – jbletheby@gmail.com
Melinda Lewis – melinda.lewis@illinois.gov
Paula Lewis c/o Beth Smukowski – bsmikowski@irem.org
Dorthy Lowe – dorthylowe@consolidated.net
Lynn Madison – Lynn@lynnmadison.com
Paul Martis –  paul.martis@cbexchange.com
John Masinelli – johnmasinelli@gmail.com
Sue Miller – Smiller001@aol.com
Alice Moss – askforalice@comcast.net
Karel Murray – karel@karel.com
Barb Novak – Barbnovak@aol.com
Mike Oldenettel  – mikeo@remax.net
Frank Orrico – contact Christina Urbina (Baird & Warner) Christina.urbina@bairdwarner.com
Wayne Paprocki – wayne@waynepaprocki.com
Denise Pav – denise_pav@yahoo.com
Georgia Pierini – georgia@georgiapierini.com
Judy Pitek – judy@judypitek.com
Anastasia Poulopoulos – ampoulopoulos@yahoo.com
Chris Read – chris@chrisAread.com
Jose Rey – josereyrealtor@gmail.com
Kathleen Ricketts – ricketts1american@yahoo.com
Michael Rohall – mrohall1@gmail.com
Anne Sadler – annesadler@yahoo.com
Kate Sax – kate@succeedwithmore.com
Joy Stanfill – joy@joystanfill.com
Leah Stetter – LeahStetter@gmail.com
Harrison Strange – HStranj1@aol.com
Nancy Strunk – nlstrunk@aol.com
Cathy Tardy – contact Christina Urbina (Baird & Warner) Christina.urbina@bairdwarner.com
Jim Titus – contact Christina Urbina (Baird & Warner) Christina.urbina@bairdwarner.com
Teri-Lynn Tomazic – contact Christina Urbina (Baird & Warner) Christina.urbina@bairdwarner.com
Pat Trombello – ttcinc@aol.com
Arlene M. Urban – arlene.urban@comcast.net
Angela Walker – angela.walker@att.net
Mark Waldhoff – mark@champaignexperts.com
Joel Ward – joel@joelwardhomes.com
John Warthman c/o Beth Smukowski – bsmikowski@irem.org
Patt Wasilas – patt_wasilas@comcast.net
Terry Watson – watson@terrywatson.com
Darryl S.Webb  dwebb@mtco.com
Peter West – pwest@ccim.net
Eric Westberg – ewestberg@hotmail.com
Sheryl Grider-Whitehurst – sherylgrider@tradersrealty.com
Norm Willoughby – norm@decaturrealtors.com
Carol Wlodarchak – cwoodygo@msn.com
Martha Wood c/o Beth Smukowski – bsmikowski@irem.org
Sandra Workman – sworkmanrealtor@yahoo.com

 

License renewal

Q. When does the IDFPR renewal site open?

A.  The IDFPR renewal site will open approximately 30 days prior to the renewal deadline.

Q. How do I submit my license renewal?

You can renew online with a credit card at https://www.idfpr.com/renewals/defaultssl.asp or print a paper copy and mail to:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
PO Box 7086
320 West Washington Street
Springfield IL 62791

Q. What are the fees for license renewal?

A. Licensing fees are determined by IDFPR and will be updated at least 30 days prior to the renewal deadline.

Q. How do I find out when my license expires so I know what is required for this renewal?

A. Your license expiration date is listed on your IDFPR-issued pocket card.  You can also use IDFPR’s online license lookup or call 1-888-473-4858.

Q. How can I find out how many continuing education credit hours I have?

A. You can check IDFPR’s CE Lookup page. You can also look up only the courses taken and passed through the Illinois REALTORS® Licensing & Training Center on our CE Lookup page.

Q. What should I do if my records are not showing up on IDFPR’s website?

A. Your best option would be to check with your course providers directly. Your course provider is responsible for sending your records to IDFPR. Keep in mind it does not happen instantly and IDFPR may not have updated its site.

Q. What if I have too many Core CE hours and not enough Elective hours?

Your Core hours will count toward Elective CE hours. However, Elective hours do not count toward your Core requirement. Keep in mind that credit hours for the same course cannot be repeated within the same cycle.

Q. I can’t find certificates for all my courses. Can I send in my renewal without them?

A. Yes. Do NOT mail your certificates to IDFPR with your renewal form. The certificates are for your records only. You may need them in the event of an audit, so keep them in your files.

Q. Why can’t I find my CE hours on your website?

A. If you took your CE through a provider other than the Illinois REALTORS® Licensing & Training Center, your CE will not be reflected in our CE Lookup. You will need to contact the other school directly for your records.

Q. Can I still practice real estate if I have not completed all the renewal requirements, completed the renewal application and paid the fee to IDFPR?

A. No. Contact the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation to learn your options: 1-800-560-6420 or email FPR.realestate@illinois.gov.

Q. I have completed my renewal requirements, paid the fee and submitted the renewal application by the deadline, but I have not received my renewed license? May I still practice now?

A. Yes, but make sure you keep records of all your CE, a copy of the renewal application, and copies of your method of payment in case of an IDFPR audit. These may be needed to prove your timely renewal.

Q. I’m a licensed attorney in good standing in Illinois. What do I need to do to renew as a broker?

A. You will be required to complete the renewal forms and pay the license renewal fees required by IDFPR. You are EXEMPT from all continuing education requirements. Note: You must indicate full CE compliance on the renewal form.

Q. If my license is in a “holding company” do I still need CE?

A. Yes. Your “holding company” is your sponsoring broker, so you hold an active sponsored real estate license. Thus, you are subject to all CE and renewal requirements.

Q. I’m currently a managing broker, but I want to revert to a broker license. Can I do that during the broker renewal cycle?

A. Yes. A managing broker may transfer to a broker license only if the managing broker license is currently in active status. For more information, see IDFPR’s transfer application.

Q. I haven’t completed my renewal requirements yet. Can I still renew my license?

A. If you renew without completing the required CE, you could face a penalty of up to $75 per 3 hour course, or $25 per credit hour that you were deficient (e.g., deficient 3 hours, $75 penalty).

Q. Where can I find more information about paperless licensing?

A. Review IDFPR’s Paperless Licensing Frequently Asked Questions.

 

Pre-license process (getting a License)

Q. How long does it take to become a real estate broker?

A. The time it takes to become a real estate broker varies. Factors include the type of classes you take, how long you choose to study the material, how soon you apply for your state license, whether you pass your exams on the your first try and other factors.

Q.  How many courses do I have to take?

A. You must complete 90 hours of pre-license coursework consisting of two courses: a 75-hour Broker Pre-license Topics course and a 15-hour Broker Pre-license Applied Real Estate Principles course.

Q. What is the difficulty level of real estate pre-license courses?  

Real estate pre-license courses are equivalent to college-level study. Your coursework will consist of large amounts of reading, learning key terms and concepts and answering multiple-choice questions.

Q. What time limits do I need to observe?

A. The 75-hour course expires 6 months after date of purchase A single 90-day extension may be purchased if needed. Pre-license course transcripts (issued when you complete both pre-license courses) are valid for four years. If you do not take the state exam within four years of receiving the transcript for your pre-license courses, you will be required to retake the courses before you can apply to take the state exam.

Because the 15-hour course builds upon content learned in the 75-hour course, it is strongly suggested that you take the 75-hour course before the 15-hour course.

Q. How do I take the state exam?
A. To schedule your state exam, call 1-913-895-4600 or go to goamp.com.

Q. How long does it take to get state exam results?
A. It can take 6-8 weeks to receive your exam results from IDFPR.

 

Proctored exams

Q. How do I get an exam proctored at a proctor location?

A. Choose a proctor site from this list of approved proctor locations and send an email to education@illinoisrealtors.org to tell us which proctor location you have chosen. Contact the proctor location to schedule the date and time for your exam. Go to the proctor location on the scheduled date and time to take the exam.

Q. How long will it take to get my exam results?

A. Once we receive your exam from the proctor location, it will be processed within 24-48 business hours.

Q. How do I find my exam results?

A. Pre-License students will have their exam results emailed to them. CE students can look up their successful course completions using our CE Lookup (only for courses taken through the Illinois REALTORS® Licensing & Training Center).

Q. Why are my exam results not showing up?

A. Only CE courses that were taken through the Illinois REALTORS® Licensing & Training Center will be listed in our CE Lookup. For courses taken through another school, go to IDFPR’s CE Lookup. Pre-License students will receive their exam results via email.

 

Reciprocity

Q. What states share license reciprocity with Illinois?

A. The Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation maintains a list of the states that share license reciprocity with Illinois.

Q. I’m from another state. What do I need to do to be a broker in Illinois?

A. Review IDFPR’s Reciprocity Application for Licensure Under the Real Estate Act.

 

State and national real estate licensing exam

Q. How do I register for the state and national real estate licensing exam?

A. Review the Candidate Handbook and register for the exam with psi/Applied Measurement Professionals.

 

Webinars

Q. What are the system requirements for Illinois REALTORS® webinars?

A. You must use a desktop computer or laptop. Our webinars will not perform properly on Notebooks, iPads and smartphones. To ensure a better experience with the D2L network, we recommend the following, regardless of which operating system you are using:

  • Memory (RAM): 2GB or more
  • Wireless Card: 802.11b/g/n or 802.11ac
  • Ethernet Card: 10/100 capable

Our wireless network uses a network access management software called SafeConnect. This helps to ensure our student computers are meeting some recommended standards to prevent virus outbreaks. SafeConnect supports the following Operating Systems:

  • Windows Vista (supported but not recommended)
  • Windows 7
  • Windows 8
  • Windows 8.1
  • Windows 10
  • Mac OS X 10.8
  • Mac OS X 10.9
  • Mac OS X 10.10

Any beta versions of operating systems are not supported (example: Windows Technical Preview or Mac OS X Public Beta). As operating systems are updated, SafeConnect is updated to support them. Occasionally, there will be a delay between operating system updates and SafeConnect Support. Although devices running iOS, Android, Chrome OS, and Windows RT are recognized on the network and will work, the D2L Online’s lockdown browser will not work on the operating system.

Q. How do I register for the webinar?  

A. Register for the webinar by selecting a date during your purchase in the Illinois REALTORS Store. Registration for a webinar will close as early as 4 pm on the preceding BUSINESS day. Once registration is closed we do NOT have the ability to add registrants. You will receive reminders the week before the webinar.

Q.  How do I cancel my webinar?

A. Contact an Education Specialist at education@illinoisrealtors.org with your request to cancel or move to another date.

Q.  If I have not completed my 75-hour Broker Pre-license Course, should I take the 15-Hour Pre-License Interactive Webinar?

A. It is highly recommended that you are 100% complete with your 75-hour program prior to taking the 15-hour interactive course.
The completion of the 75-hour exam is NOT required before you register for the 15-hour webinar.

Q.  How do I communicate with the instructor?

A. You will interact with your instructor by using the chat messaging feature found in the upper right hand corner of your screen. You are able to privately message the instructor as well.

Q. Do I need a microphone for the webinar?

A. No. You will interact with your instructor by using the chat messaging feature found in the upper right hand corner of your screen. You are able to privately message the instructor as well.

 Q.  How do I log into a webinar?

A. Log into your D2L account and go to your “15-hour Interactive Course” in the “My Courses” section. Scroll to the bottom of the page and follow the “Download Blackboard Collaborate Launcher” link. You must download this program prior to webinar day.

Q.   Is attendance taken for this webinar?

A. Yes, attendance will be taken several times throughout the webinar to insure students are logged in. You are required to attend the entire webinar.

Q.  Do we receive any materials for the webinar?  

A. Yes, your course materials are inside the D2L course. Some materials may be in a .pdf format and/or videos that will have direct links to YouTube. The course materials will “unlock” five days prior to the webinar

Q.  Do I have to have special equipment on my computer for this webinar?

A.  The way you will communicate is through the “chat” feature of the D2L program. You will need speakers to hear the webinar. Most computers have these internally in the computer. You do not need a camera or microphone for the actual webinar but you will need them to take the final exam for the course.  You will be able to see the instructor but he/she will not be able to see you.
Notebooks, iPads and smart phones CANNOT be used for this webinar.

 Q. What time does the webinar start?

A. Promptly at 9:00am. Please log-in by 8:45 am for a sound check and for any troubleshooting you may need. Attendance will be taken at the start and throughout the webinar when the instructor returns for a break. 15-hour webinars conclude between 4-4:30 pm.

Q.  Do we get breaks throughout the webinar?

A. Yes, courses are approved on 50-minute hours, so if the instructor does not take a one hour lunch and two 15-minute breaks, the course could end much earlier than the time that is posted. The instructor will announce what time you will break for lunch and it may be anywhere from 30 minutes to an hour.

Q.  Do I have to take an exam with this webinar?

A. Yes, there is a 25-question, multiple-choice exam to pass after the webinar. The exam will be unlocked in your D2L course at the end of Day 2. You MUST HAVE a webcam to take the exam.
Students have 30 days to complete the exam.

Q. Who do I contact if I’m having problems accessing my course?

A. Contact an Education Specialist at education@illinoisrealtors.org or 217-529-2600.  If we are not open, you can call 217-581-4357 for username/password issues or 217-581-8452 for Blackboard/course issues.