Awards: service with distinction

Illinois REALTORS® stand out for their professionalism and market expertise, and the association has several awards to honor those who are among the very best in the industry.

Drews 2019 ROTY

2019 Illinois REALTOR® of the Year Micheal D. Drews speaks during the banquet held in April at the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Museum in Springfield.

Dan Goodwin, CEO of the Inland Real Estate Group of Companies. Photo by Randy Squires.

The Illinois REALTORS® Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes substantial contributions to the real estate industry. It’s awarded to a member who excels in supporting REALTOR® causes at the local, state and federal level, and who exhibits qualities found in the REALTOR® Code of Ethics.

2017: Daniel L. Goodwin, chairman and CEO of the Oak Brook, Ill.-based Inland Real Estate Group of Companies, Inc. He was honored for service to the industry  and for a lifelong commitment to fair housing for all.

The Illinois REALTOR® of the Year award is the highest honor the Illinois REALTORS® can bestow on a member. It is presented to an individual whose dedication to excellence has most profoundly enhanced the professional image of REALTORS® in the State of Illinois. The award recognizes the Illinois REALTOR® of the Year’s personal leadership and service qualities, applied not only to the real estate industry, but also to the promotion of civic, community and charitable causes. The award, while not granted for a specific business accomplishment, is earned by REALTORS® who have made a mark in the real estate industry.

Previous winners

  • Frank Syms, Chicago, 1962
  • Rich Port, LaGrange, 1964
  • Robert McGuire, Evanston, 1966
  • William Allmart, Glen Ellyn, 1967
  • Arthur Mohl, Chicago, 1969
  • Morgan Fitch, Chicago, 1970
  • M. Edward Smith, Des Plaines, 1971
  • Ray Speckman, Kankakee, 1972
  • Kathryn Duncan, Robinson, 1973
  • Ralph Pritchard , LaGrange, 1974
  • Robert Steger, Steger, 1975
  • Vincent Penza, Jacksonville, 1976
  • Richard Rauch, Chicago, 1977
  • Douglas Carson, Melrose Park, 1978
  • Robert Cook, Springfield, 1979
  • Ronald Chinnock, Chicago, 1980
  • John Picken, Rockford, 1981
  • Roy Fair, Aurora, 1982
  • Leo Sheridan, Evanston, 1983
  • Ruth Thiel, Evanston, 1984
  • Jack Hamer, Naperville, 1985
  • Ralph Martin, Des Plaines, 1986
  • Myron Thaden, Olympia Fields, 1987
  • Lydia Franz, Barrington, 1988
  • Don Ursin, Oak Brook, 1989
  • Walt Schlemer, Edwardsville, 1990
  • William Griffin, Naperville, 1991
  • Randall Raynolds, Springfield, 1992
  • Patricia Ortseifen, Lake Forest, 1993
  • Gerald Perlow, Chicago, 1994
  • Alice Roth, Barrington, 1995
  • R. Rex Rowland, Christopher, 1996
  • Dick Crosby, Rockford, 1997
  • Arlen Speckman, Kankakee, 1998
  • Marilyn Glazer, Skokie, 1999
  • Phil Johnson, Belleville, 2000
  • H. Sue Wiskowski, Aurora, 2001
  • Jean Crosby, Rockford, 2002
  • Alex LaBelle, LaGrange, 2003
  • James Kinney, Chicago, 2004
  • Toni Sherman, Glen Ellyn, 2005
  • Judie McConville, Ottawa, 2006
  • Nancy Koch, Morton, 2007
  • Patrick Dalessandro, Niles, 2008
  • John Veneris, Downers Grove, 2009
  • John C. Kmiecik, Chicago, 2010
  • Lynn Madison, Lake Zurich, 2011
  • Kay Wirth, Crystal Lake, 2012
  • John Vranas, Chicago, 2013
  • Pat Callan, Wheaton, 2014
  • Loretta Alonzo, LaGrange Park, 2015
  • Chris Read, Woodridge, 2016
  • Sue Miller, McHenry, 2017
  • Michael D. Oldenettel, Jacksonville, 2018
  • Michael D. Drews, Aurora, 2019

Illinois REALTORS® awards the Distinguished Service Award to honor those who have provided outstanding contributions and service to the Illinois REALTORS® and their communities. Individuals who receive the award are recognized as leaders whose performance and involvement in the real estate association has been extraordinary. Recipients continue to remain active in the real estate industry, influencing others with their knowledge and experience.

Past recipients

Dan Bock
George Patt
Roberta Griffin
Wayne Edwards

Phyllis Jeske
Don Truitt

Mac Boyd
Donna Garver
Ann Hallock

John Kretchmar
Frank Williams
Anne Zickus

Terry Penza
Jack Potter
Winnie Stortzum

Loretta Alonzo
John Vranas

Doug Carpenter
Gary Clayton

Max Mitchell
Judy Stowe

Sue Miller
Al Suguitan

Illinois REALTORS® works on private property issues at the local, state and federal level. This award is given for outstanding political and legislative service to the REALTOR® organization.

Past recipients

2018: Pat McCarthy

2017: Piero Orsi

2016: Sonia Anaya

2015: Ed Neaves

2014: Lynn Madison

2013: Stan Sieron

2012: Gerald N. Perlow

This award is given by an outgoing Illinois REALTORS® president to honor those who made a difference during the president’s term of service.

Past recipients


Doug Carpenter
Matt Difanis
Sue Miller
Michael D. Oldenettel
Nykea Pippion McGriff
Sarah Ware


Jean Crosby
Zeke Morris
Courtney Q. Jones
Mabél Guzmán


Vicky Turner
Sonia Anaya
Alex Ruggieri
Chris Read
Deb Prodehl
Lynn Madison

Pam Krieter
Lynn Madison
Ed Neaves
Vicky Sampah
Steve Volkodav

Bob Eby
Mábel Guzmán
Ed Neaves
Chris Read
Vicky Turner
Dan Wagner

Jim Barbagallo
Mábel Guzmán
Phil Johnson
Connie Stellhorn-Schanter

The Margery Shinners Rhino Award is given annually to the Illinois REALTORS® association executive who symbolizes strength, leadership and loyalty to the profession.

Past recipients

2019: Linda Green

2018: Deb Frazier

2017: Deb Borgwald and Margery Shinners

2016: Dallas Hancock

2015: Pam Krieter

2014: Dan Sale

2013: Jim Haisler

2012: Ginger Downs

2011: Al Suguitan

2010: Wayne Edwards

2009: Gary Clayton

2008: Terry Penza