At 2 a.m. Sunday, Americans in every state but Hawaii and Alaska will move their clocks ahead one hour to observe Daylight Saving Time.

Although many electronic devices such as computers and smartphones may be programmed to update their clocks for Daylight Saving Time, some devices still require manual adjustments.


The United States first adopted Daylight Saving Time during World War I, in 1918, but stopped in 1919. It was temporarily reestablished during World War II and again during the energy crisis of 1974.

In 1987, it became permanent, starting on the first Sunday of April and ending on the last Sunday of October.  In 2007, it was expanded to start the first Sunday in March and end the first Sunday in November, according to

This year, Daylight Saving Time lasts until Sunday, Nov. 3.