License renewal deadlines and requirements
Education requirements are based upon your license type and the date you were first licensed. Click your license type to see license renewal requirements.
New 4-hour Core CE requirement
Core CE curriculum requirements changed June 30, 2019. Learn more about the changes to CE requirements for license renewal.
New continuing education courses will be available by the end of the year. You may request a notification when CE courses are available in the Education Store by providing your name and email address.
Q. When does the IDFPR renewal site open?
A. The IDFPR renewal site generally opens about 60 days prior to each renewal deadline.
Q. How do I submit my license renewal?
You will receive an email from IDFPR with your unique pin number for license renewal. If you don’t have a pin number, you may use your social security number and date of birth.
Renew online with IDFPR using a credit card or follow IDFPR’s instructions to send a check and renew by mail:
Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
PO Box 7086
320 West Washington Street
Springfield IL 62791
Q. What are the fees for license renewal?
A. The fees for licensing renewal vary by license type:
Managing broker license renewal fee: $200
Broker license renewal fee: $150
Leasing Agent license renewal fee: $100
Partnership, LLC or Corp license renewal fee: $150
If you renew after the deadline, there is an additional $50 late payment penalty fee.
Q. How do I find out when my license expires so I know what is required for this renewal?
A. You can use IDFPR’s online license lookup or call 1-888-473-4858.
Q. How can I find out how many continuing education credit hours I have?
Q. What should I do if my records are not showing up on IDFPR’s website?
A. Your best option would be to check with your course providers directly. Your course provider is responsible for sending your records to IDFPR. Keep in mind it does not happen instantly and IDFPR may not have updated its site.
Q. What if I have too many core CE hours and not enough elective hours?
Your Core hours will count toward Elective CE hours. However, Elective hours do not count toward your Core requirement. Keep in mind that credit hours for the same course cannot be repeated within the same cycle.
Q. I can’t find certificates for all my courses. Can I send in my renewal without them?
A. Yes. Do NOT mail your certificates to IDFPR with your renewal form. The certificates are for your records only. You may need them in the event of an audit, so keep them in your files.
Q. Why can’t I find my CE hours on your website?
A. If you took your CE through a provider other than the Illinois REALTORS® Licensing & Training Center, your CE will not be reflected in our CE Lookup. You will need to contact the other school directly for your records.
Q. Can I still practice real estate if I have not completed all the renewal requirements, completed the renewal application and paid the fee to IDFPR?
A. No. Contact the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation to learn your options: 1-800-560-6420 or email FPR.email@example.com.
Q. I have completed my renewal requirements, paid the fee and submitted the renewal application by the deadline, but I have not received my renewed license? May I still practice now?
A. Yes, but make sure you keep records of all your CE, a copy of the renewal application, and copies of your method of payment in case of an IDFPR audit. These may be needed to prove your timely renewal. Also, after you renew your license online, it will take up to one week for the changes to appear on the IDFPR website. You will then be able to print your renewed license.
Q. There were changes to the license law in 2017. How do those changes apply to license renewal?
A. One substantive change in the Act became immediately effective on January 1, 2018: the implementation of test-free courses. Courses taken in a classroom, via live interactive webinar, or through an online distance education format are eligible to eliminate the testing that normally accompanies them. Because of the added requirements placed on education providers for record keeping, it is thought that only a few education providers will be able to cease administering tests right away, however Illinois REALTORS® Licensing & Training Center has already implemented “no course exams” for our online and classroom courses.
Q. Do I still have to take an exam at the end of my courses?
A. Illinois REALTORS® Licensing & Training Center courses no longer require an exam. Courses taken in a classroom, via live interactive webinar, or through an online distance education format are eligible to eliminate the testing that normally accompanies them. Because of the added requirements placed on education providers for record keeping, it is thought that only a few other education providers will be able to cease administering tests right away.
Q. I’m a licensed attorney in good standing in Illinois. What do I need to do to renew as a broker?
A. You will be required to complete the renewal forms and pay the license renewal fees required by IDFPR. You are EXEMPT from all continuing education requirements. Note: You must indicate full CE compliance on the renewal form.
Q. If my license is in a “holding company” do I still need CE?
A. Yes. Your “holding company” is your sponsoring broker, so you hold an active sponsored real estate license. Thus, you are subject to all CE and renewal requirements.
Q. I’m currently a managing broker, but I want to revert to a broker license. Can I do that during the broker renewal cycle?
A. Yes. A managing broker may transfer to a broker license only if the managing broker license is currently in active status. For more information, see IDFPR’s transfer application.
Q. I haven’t completed my renewal requirements yet. Can I still renew my license?
A. If you renew without completing the required CE, you could face a penalty of up to $75 per 3 hour course, or $25 per credit hour that you were deficient (e.g., deficient 3 hours, $75 penalty). If you receive a deficiency notice from IDFPR and you are not in compliance within 60 days, your case will be sent to prosecution and you will be subject to disciplinary action and substantial fines. See deficiency notice on the Education FAQs page.