The Illinois REALTORS Relief Foundation and the Egyptian Board of REALTORS held a press conference to announce aid targeted toward Alexander County residents who were impacted by spring floods which inundated portions of the area. Shown here, L to R, are: Carole Tabor, McClure Village Trustee; Becky Glodo, East Cape Girardeau village clerk ;  Joe Aden, East Cape Girardeau mayor; Mike Turner, Alexander County ESDA; Charay Palmer, Egyptian Board of REALTORS® association executive; Cheryle Dillon, McClure village president; Ron Deedrick, Illinois REALTORS® Local Governmental Affairs Director; Cindy Bevis, Mount Vernon REALTOR® and president of EBOR; and Theresa Camarato, a Herrin REALTOR®.

$15,000 earmarked for relief efforts as part of program

EAST CAPE GIRARDEAU, Ill. — Illinois REALTORS® Relief Foundation and the Egyptian Board of REALTORS® announced on Wednesday that residents in Alexander County are now eligible to apply for assistance through a charitable foundation which helps areas hit by natural disasters.

IRRF, which is the disaster assistance foundation established by Illinois REALTORS®, has earmarked $15,000 to go toward relief efforts. The request to include Alexander County was made by the Egyptian Board of REALTORS®, which represents real estate professionals in 27 southern Illinois Counties.

Those seeking aid must fill out the form which can be found on the foundation’s webpage.  The form has more details about the program and criteria for eligibility. The deadline to apply is Sept. 30, 2019.

“REALTORS® work in communities throughout Alexander County, and when we see a need, we want to make sure we do what we can to assist,” said REALTOR® Cynthia Bevis, president of the Egyptian Board of REALTORS®. “Our mission is to help people thrive in communities they love, and standing by our neighbors in good times and bad is what we do.”

IRRF and Illinois REALTORS® have donated nearly $1 million in aid to people affected by  disasters since 1997.

In addition to Alexander County, residents in Jersey, Calhoun, Stephenson, and Winnebago counties can apply. All five counties were affected by severe flooding this spring.

The announcement was made Wednesday at a press conference held in East Cape Girardeau, Ill.