REALTOR® support matters: More than 70 percent of backed candidates elected

Egyptian Board of REALTORS® celebrate a win in Carbondale by Mike Henry on April 7, 2015. Henry was supported through RPAC and independent expenditures. Photo: Kyle Anderson.

On April 7, 2015, Illinois REALTORS® went to the polls to elect candidates for local offices who understand and appreciate private property rights. IAR, through RPAC donations and independent expenditures, was involved in races throughout the state.

As of April 8, 71 percent of races with support from IAR were won. (One race was still undecided).

See the full list below to find out how the REALTOR® Voice was heard loud and clear. The candidates listed below are those which received support from IAR. Several other REALTOR® organizations, including the Mainstreet Organization of REALTORS® and the Chicago Association of REALTORS® also supported candidates. Their results are not included in the list.

The full tally sheet from Government Affairs is here. The overview is below.

 RPAC-Supported “Opportunity Race” Candidates

Chris Seniker, Trustee, Brighton, IL WIN
Mike Henry, Mayor, Carbondale, IL WIN
Allen Hale, Trustee, East Alton, IL WIN
Terri Dalla Riva, School Board, Edwardsville, IL WIN
Kevin Botterbush, Trustee, Godfrey, IL
Eldon Williams, Trustee, Godfrey, IL WIN
Terry Seymour, Trustee, Godfrey, IL
Tom Giarrante, Mayor, Joliet, IL
Joanne Bartelsen, City Council, Lockport, IL WIN
Ryan Spain, City Council, Peoria, IL WIN
Chuck Weaver, City Council, Peoria, IL WIN
Eric Turner, City Council, Peoria, IL WIN
Phil Chiles, City Council, Springfield, IL

 Illinois Association of REALTORS® Fund (IE)-supported Candidates

An independent expenditure is a means of providing support for a candidate, but it is done so in a way that eliminates coordination with the candidate’s campaign.

Mike Kozel, Village Trustee, Barrington, IL
Mike Henry, Mayor, Carbondale, IL   WIN
Deborah Feinen; Mayor, Champaign, IL WIN
Brian Hopkins, Alderman Ward 2, Chicago, IL WIN
John Pope, Alderman Ward 10, Chicago, IL (Undecided)
Patrick Daley Thompson, Alderman Ward 11, Chicago, IL WIN
Raymond Lopez, Alderman Ward 15, Chicago, IL WIN
Stephanie Coleman, Alderman Ward 16, Chicago, IL (Still Pending)
Michael Scott, Jr., Alderman Ward 24, Chicago, IL WIN
Deborah Graham, Alderman Ward 29, Chicago, IL
Mary O’Connor, Alderman Ward 41, Chicago, IL
James Cappleman, Alderman Ward 46, Chicago, IL WIN
James Ford, Mayor, Country Club Hills, IL WIN
John Toscas, Village Trustee, Crestwood, IL
Bob Benton, Village Trustee, Deerfield, IL
Terri Dalla-Riva, School Board, Edwardsville, IL WIN
Joe Galvan, Mayor, Elgin, IL
Jonathan Zivojnovic, Village Trustee, Elmwood Park, IL WIN
Mark Hosty, Commissioner, Forest Park, IL
Jim Radecki, Alderman Ward 4, Geneva, IL WIN
Kevin Waldenstrom, Village Trustee, Grayslake, IL WIN
Tom Giarrante, Mayor, Joliet, IL
Joanne Bartelsen, Alderman, Lockport, IL WIN
Rebecca Boyd-Obarski, City Council, Naperville, IL WIN
Judy Brodhead, City Council, Naperville, IL WIN
Kevin Coyne, City Council, Naperville, IL WIN
Patty Gustin, City Council, Naperville, IL WIN
Paul Hinterlong, City Council, Naperville, IL WIN
Chuck Weaver, City Council, Peoria, IL WIN
Misty Buscher, City Treasurer, Springfield, IL WIN
Phil Chiles, City Council, Springfield, IL
Tony Smarjesse, City Council, Springfield, IL

RPAC-Supported Local Candidates

JoAnn Fletcher, Village Trustee, Barrington, IL  
Maureen Yates, Village Trustee, Barrington, IL
Dorothy Meyer, City Council, Belleville, IL
Deborah Feinen, Mayor, Champaign, IL WIN
Bob Benton, Village Trustee, Deerfield, IL
John Kahl, City Council, East Peoria, IL WIN
Brenda Wagner, City Council, Fairview Heights, IL WIN
Ross Breckenridge, Village Trustee, Glen Carbon, IL WIN
Bill Griffin
, College of Lake County Trustee, Grayslake, IL  WIN
Debbie Hymen
, Township HS District 113, Lake County, IL WIN
Andrew Burke, Village Trustee, Lake Barrington, IL WIN
Jim Thompson, Village Trustee, Lake Barrington, IL  WIN
Jesal Patel, Trustee, Lincolnwood, IL WIN
Barry Bass, Trustee, Lincolnwood, IL WIN
Jennifer Spino, Trustee, Lincolnwood, IL WIN
Janice Sauer, Village Trustee, North Barrington, IL WIN
Kathy Kelley, Rock Valley College Trustees, Rockford, IL  WIN
Bob Trojan, Rock Valley Board of Trustees, Rockford, IL WIN
Lindsey Swanson, Village Trustee, Roscoe, IL WIN
Chuck Redpath, City Council, Springfield, IL  WIN
Mark Saladin, City Council, Woodstock, IL   WIN

With 43,000 Illinois REALTORS®, there’s strength in numbers. Invest today!

Disclosure: Contributions to RPAC are not deductible for federal income tax purposes. Contributions are voluntary and are used for political purposes. The amounts indicated are merely guidelines and you may contribute more or less than the suggested amounts. The National Association of REALTORS® and its state and local associations will not favor or disadvantage any member because of the amount contributed or decision not to contribute. You may refuse to contribute without reprisal. Up to thirty percent (30%) may be sent to National RPAC to support federal candidates and is charged against your limits under 2 U.S.C. 441a. A copy of our report filed with the State Board of Elections is (or will be) available on the Board’s official website or for purchase from the State Board of Elections, Springfield, Illinois.


2015-04-09T07:42:12-05:00April 9th, 2015|Uncategorized|0 Comments

About the Author:

Jon Broadbooks is vice president for communications at Illinois REALTORS®.

Share your feedback