Have questions about your real estate broker license renewal? Please review these FAQs.
Q. I renewed my license through the online portal and the IDFPR website is not showing that I renewed. How do I know if it was processed?
A. The online License Lookup is updated daily. Any changes should appear the next business day after your renewal application has been processed. If you renew online and then immediately check the status, it will not appear updated until the application is processed which is typically within one to two business days and may vary depending on volume.
Q. Can I still practice real estate as a Broker after April 30, 2018 if I have not completed the required education and/or completed the renewal application and paid the fee to the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation?
A. No. Contact the Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation to learn your options: IDFPR 1-800-560-6420 or FPR.firstname.lastname@example.org.
Q. What is the fee for renewing late?
A. The late renewal fee includes a $50 late fee increasing your renewal fee from $150 to $200.
Q. If I have completed my education, paid the fee and submitted the renewal form on or before April 30th but have not received the email to print my license, may I practice now?
A. Yes. Make sure you keep records of your completed education, online renewal confirmation and payment for proof purposes in the case of an audit. Primary source verification and evidence that you are licensed can be obtained free of charge by visiting the IDFPR online License Lookup database. You may print out a screen shot of your license number showing that it is active. If the IDFPR does not have a current email address for you, please notify them immediately. Follow this link to change your email address.
Q. What should I look for?
A. The email notification will come from IDFPR Notification (FPR.email@example.com)
Q. What if I haven’t completed my education in time to meet the renewal date of April 30, 2018 for the broker license?
A. Do not renew! If you renew without completing the required education you could face a penalty of up to $75 per 3-hour course, or $25 per credit hour that you were deficient (e.g., deficient 3 hours, $75 penalty).
Q. I was required to take Post License courses for my first renewal and took CE in instead. What should I do?
A. If you already renewed it is likely that the Department will catch this in the audit. It would be best to go ahead and take the post license course work as soon as possible so that your records may be sent to the Department. You may still be fined up to $25 per credit hour, but it is always best to notify the department to avoid additional penalties. Unfortunately, the CE you have completed will not count for your next renewal cycle.
Q. What if I can’t find a course?
A. The 15-hour Broker Post License Topics course may be taken online , so you would just need to find a 15-hour Broker Post License Applied Real Estate Practices course. Some providers do offer the course via webinar so that should make it easier to get the course completed. If no course offerings are available through any schools, you may have to hire a private instructor to complete the 15-hour interactive course.
Q. If I renewed early, can I start taking my CE immediately for the next cycle?
A. No. You must wait until after the renewal deadline has passed and complete your education after May 1, 2018 or it will not count toward your next renewal cycle requirement.